Annual BlueClaws Bowl Guide

This is one of our favorite posts of the year – the Definitive BlueClaws Bowl Guide. Who should you root for in all of the college football bowl games this year (I think there are only 451 left to be played)? We go through the list with the BlueClaws connections!

If we missed one, which is possible, leave in the comments or email

Poinsettia Bowl San Diego State/BYU – Quintin Berry (2007) and Troy Hanzawa (2009) went to San Diego State.

Beef O’Brady’s Bowl Ball State/Central Florida – Chris Duffy (2012) starred at Central Florida before being drafted by the Phillies. Perci Garner, drafted in 2010, who skipped Lakewood, went to Ball State.

New Orleans Bowl East Carolina/UL-Lafayette – Stephen Batts (2010/11) played at ECU.

Las Vegas Bowl – Washington/Boise State – I know you remembered 2003 BlueClaw Andre Marshall, who played at Washington. Trevor May (2009-10) committed there but signed with the Phillies out of high school. Travis Mattair (2008-09, 11) never played baseball at Boise State but he did spend a year there as a walk-on on the basketball team, so that counts.

Hawaii Bowl – SMU/Fresno State – Phillies broadcaster Scott Franzke went to SMU and Steve Susdorf (2009 BlueClaw) went to Fresno State.

Little Caesars Bowl Central Michigan/Western Kentucky – We found a draft pick from WKU – Ryan Hutchison, a Phillies pick in 2001, played that year with Batavia but skipped Lakewood, going straight to Clearwater in 2002. Matt Payton was with Lakewood very briefly in 2011, playing three games, but he too went to Western Kentucky.

Holiday Bowl – UCLA/Baylor – Tyson Brummett (2008) and Garrett Claypool (2011) went to UCLA. Anthony Hensley (2001), Josh Scott (2002) as well as Josh Ludy (2012) went to Baylor.

Independence Bowl – Ohio/UL-Monroe – 2012 BlueClaws OF Gauntlett Eldemire went to Ohio.

Armed Forces Bowl – Air Force/Rice – Karl Bolt (2008) went to Air Force. Former Phillies first round pick Joe Savery went to Rice.

Pinstripe Bowl – Syracuse/West Virginia – Zac Cline (2004) went to WVU.

Fight Hunger Bowl – Navy/Arizona State – Tuffy Gosewisch (2007) is a Sun Devil, as is 2012 RHP Jake Borup.

Alamo Bowl – Texas/Oregon State – 2011 BlueClaws C Cameron Rupp and 2012 LHP Hoby Milner both went to Texas. Mike Stutes (2008) and Andrew Baldwin (2005) both went to Oregon State while 2012 BlueClaw Kyrell Hudson committed there before signing with the Phillies.

Music City Bowl NC State/Vanderbilt – Josh Zeid (2010) went to Vanderbilt.

Sun Bowl – Georgia Tech/USC – Jeremy Slayden (2006) went to Georgia Tech.

Chick-Fil-A Bowl – Clemson/LSU – Herm Demmink (2007) went to Clemson while on the LSU side, we have 2010 BlueClaw Brody Colvin, who committed here but didn’t sign. 2006 BlueClaw Clay Harris played at LSU.

Gator Bowl – Northwestern/Mississippi State – 2005 LHP JA Happ and 2006 RHP Dan Brauer both went to Northwestern. We couldn’t find anyone from Mississippi State except Travis Chapman, a 2000 Phillies draft pick who played in Batavia and skipped Lakewood.

Heart of Dallas Bowl – Purdue/Oklahoma State – 2012 BlueClaws LHP Blake Mascarello pitched at Purdue along with 2012 Williamsport 3B Cameron Perkins, who could be a BlueClaw this year. Three alums went to Oklahoma State: John Urick (2006), Michael Dabbs (2010), and Jason Jaramillo (2005).

Outback Bowl – Michigan/South Carolina – Michael Floyd (2002), Andrew Cruse (2007), Mike Cisco (2008) and Aaron Rawl (2006-06) all went to South Carolina.

Capital One Bowl – Nebraska/Georgia – Mike Nesseth (2012), Luke Wertz (2009-10) and Trevor Bullock (2001) played here. Jacob Diekman (2008-10) committed here as did Tyler Cloyd (2009), though both signed with the Phillies. Cody Asche, who skipped Lakewood, was drafted out of Nebraska in 2011.

Rose Bowl – Wisconsin/Stanford – We have one from Wisconsin. From the first ever BlueClaws team in 2001, Chad Sidowsky, while 2008 BlueClaw Michael Taylor went to Stanford.

Orange Bowl – Northern Illinois/Florida State – 2007 LHP Matt German went to Northern Illinois while Aaron Cheesman (2006) and Robby Read (2003) went to Florida State. Potential 2013 BlueClaw Roman Quinn committed to Florida State before signing with the Phillies.

Sugar Bowl – Louisville/Florida – 2009 BlueClaw BJ Rosenberg is a proud Louisville Cardinal. 2012 BlueClaw Matt Campbell is the lone Gator, though 2007 BlueClaw Adrian Cardenas committed here before signing with the Phillies.

Fiesta Bowl – Oregon/Kansas State – No Oregon alums though Jesse Biddle (2011) committed here before signing with the Phillies, and nothing from Kansas State.

Cotton Bowl – Oklahoma/Texas A&M – Will Savage (2006) and Ryan Duke (2011-12) went to Oklahoma while Ryan Wardinsky (2003) went to Texas A&M.

BBVA Compass Bowl – Pittsburgh/Ole Miss – Evangelista (2004) went to Pittsburgh. 2006 teammates Cooper Osteen and Matt Maloney both went to Ole Miss, as did 2011 BlueClaw Austin Wright.

BCS Championship Game – Notre Dame/Alabama – 2010 BlueClaw Jeremy Barnes went to Notre Dame while Austin Hyatt (2009) went to Alabama (as did Phillies draftee Adam Morgan who skipped Lakewood and finished last year with Reading).

edCanvas = document.getElementById(‘content’);

Leave a Reply